White Bean Cauliflower Mash

White bean cauliflower mashSo, the other day I was thinking about dinner and looking at my YUM! board on Pinterest. This is what I do on a regular basis because I have pinned many delicious, go-to recipes there.  But since I’m attempting to continue my low-carb kick, I am left scrolling and scrolling through tempting goodies that I just can’t eat. The worst.

Luckily, as I came upon this recipe for chicken with roasted garlic gravy, I simultaneously remembered that I had a container of prepared white beans in my fridge!  I decided that instead of mashed potatoes, I would experiment and make a white bean and cauliflower mash.

Here is what I did:

Roasted cauliflower I started prepping the cauliflower.  Most cauliflower mash recipes call for you to steam or boil the cauliflower, but I always roast it.  It adds a depth of flavor that just can’t be matched with those other cooking methods.  I cut it up, drizzled it with olive oil and spices, and tossed it together on a baking sheet.  I roasted the cauliflower until it was tender with some brown, crunchy bits.

White bean puréeBecause I prefer not to use canned, I prepare dried beans to use throughout the week. I had some of these white beans already, which I measured (1 cup = 2 cans), soaked, and boiled. Then, I drained them, reserving the liquid, and pureed them in my food processor with some roasted garlic, salt, pepper, and smoked paprika.

I used the reserved bean liquid to create a smooth cauliflower puree in the food processor.Then I mixed to two together to create the white bean cauliflower mash. It was delicious on its own and even better topped with the chicken.  It was great to get creative in the kitchen!

White bean cauliflower mashWhite Bean Cauliflower Mash
makes 6-8 servings

Ingredients

1 large head of cauliflower
5 cloves garlic, unpeeled
1 cup dried white beans, prepared and liquid reserved
(or 2 cans of white beans, rinsed, plus 1-2 cups veggie stock)
2 tbs. olive oil
1 tsp. smoked paprika, divided
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut cauliflower into florets, halving if very large.
  3. Place the florets and the 5 cloves of garlic onto a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with half the paprika, salt and pepper. Place in the over and roast for 20-30 minutes.  They should be tender with crispy, brown edges.
  4. Pick out the roasted garlic and set aside.  Put the roasted cauliflower into the bowl of a food processor with about 1 cup of bean liquid (or veggie stock).  Puree until smooth, adding more liquid if necessary.  Empty the cauliflower puree into a large mixing bowl.
  5. Now, make your bean puree.  Put your drained beans into the bowl of a food processor. Sprinkle in the remaining paprika and pinch of salt and pepper. Squeeze the roasted garlic goodness into the bowl.  Puree until smooth.  Empty the white bean puree into the mixing bowl.
  6. Stir the two purees together until thoroughly combined.  Taste for seasoning, adding additional salt and pepper if necessary.
  7. Serve with any dish you usually pair with mashed potatoes! Might I suggest my Grandma’s Spare Ribs?

A link to this page is posted on the following sites: Tidy MomThe Shabby NestSew Many WaysNifty Thrifty Things

Leave a Reply

