Healthy Start Updates, Plus Green Tea & Chia Energy Drink

Aloha Belly ChallengeYou all may remember my vow to have a healthy start to my school year.  I am happy to report the exercise portion of my plan has been going swimmingly. I completed my 21-day exercise commitment and bought a Misfit Shine to boot!  

After the 21 days were over, I did stick to my 3 miles or 30 minutes, 3 times a week, but I just didn’t feel like it was enough. I lost a good 7 pounds with my healthier diet and the vigorous exercise of the challenge, but that stagnated once I stopped. That’s why I decided that I needed to revisit the 21-day challenge.

John and I vowed to wake up 30 minutes earlier than our usual 5:30 and exercise for 30 minutes before work.  I’m going to stick to my previous routine:

Aloha Belly Challenge

Because of the shorter daylight hours, and because my ankle is still giving me troubles, I will probably replace all of my running activities with FitnessBlender videos. Here, again, are my Flat Belly, Zumba, and Yoga Playlists on YouTube. These have good options for strength training and flexibility days or days that you can’t get outside to do cardio!

I’ve been doing okay with sticking to my eating plan, but with it being so darn hot in California these days, I haven’t been drinking my daily green tea.  In order to get that in, I decided to create an afternoon energy drink.  The green tea will be a perfect pick-me-up for my after school slump.  It also has chia seeds in it, so it’ll keep me from snacking before dinner.  I personally don’t care for sweet tea, but you can easily add simple syrup, stevia, or honey to the drink if you like that.

Green Tea & Chia Energy Refresher

GREEN TEA & CHIA ENERGY REFRESHER
(makes 1 serving)Ingredients

12 oz filtered water

2 tsp chia seeds

¼ tsp matcha tea powder

sweetener of your choice to taste (optional)

  1. Combine all ingredients into a sealable water bottle and shake thoroughly.
  2. Chill and allow water to absorb into chia seeds for at least one hour.

This can be kept in the refrigerator for up to a week.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Start Updates, Plus Green Tea & Chia Energy Drink

  1. Great schedule. Sounds similar to mine, except I don’t do a thing on Sunday’s. 🙂

    Have you tried Macha? I can’t seem to make it where it tastes good to drink on its own, but I add it to smoothies so I get the benefit of it.

    Like

    • I love my workout schedule. I have been getting up early to work out and it is really a great way to start the day. Matcha is one of my new obsessions, but I am not a sweet drink person, so it works for me as a drink. Stay tuned for an awesomely sinful matcha use, though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do the same with regard to working out. I love doing it early in the morning, because the gym isn’t crowded then, and also it really gets me energized to for the day. I don’t like sweet drinks either, but I can’t seem to acquire a taste for the macha. I look forward to your sinful way of using it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

